Minding My Miracles

~ and finding new mercies every morning

Vacation Blessings pt. 2

Dear Ones –

I think I am finally caught up on sleep and ready to hit the road running.  Grocery shopping, the zoo and the park are all falling on our agenda this week.  Laundry is all done and pretty much all put away.  I’ve even caught up on some  of the blogs I am behind on reading.  Good stuff has been going on in the blog world over the past two weeks.  I miss reading all my “friends” when I get behind.   Does this ever happen to you?

Now on to Vacation Blessing #2…  Real Communication.  Do you ever get so caught up in your life that you forget to discover what’s going on in the world around you?  Has it been so ling since you talk to that aunt that has all the family news that you just don’t know what is going on in the family anymore?  Or have you made plans and forgotten to tell your spouse all the details?  Have you asked your family what  they would like to do with some extra free time?

Or maybe you’ve been trying to accomplish a bunch of stuff in a limited amount of time and although you need help, you don’t share that and just get angry because you have to do everything yourself.  Suddenly, time is running out and instead of peace your body is filled with stress.  So not the way to live.

I LOVE communication and am usually pretty good at it.  I like to plan things and I like to see everything fall into line.  On this vacation I planned a lot.  When things came up with Beth I felt a little out of my element.  My “plan” wasn’t exactly going according to plan.  There were several moments where I lost it with my man and regretted it.  Instead of communicating with him what I needed to find a place of balance, I just blew up at him.  It was ugly and NOT how I want to be.  God offers us a peace beyond what circumstances offer.  We have the opportunity to be filled to overflowing with joy regardless of whether we are in “control” of everything that goes on or not.  All it takes it us communicating with God and asking Him for what we cannot do for ourselves.  He is willing and able to provide for us.

One of the great things about going “home” on vacation is that we get to see all the family and friends that we miss so much.  It’s amazing with phone calls, texts, e-mails, Facebook and other forms of social media how different it is talking to someone in person.  You really understand someone when you actually see them.  There is more laughter, more honesty and things flow easier.  There is nothing like a hug that cradles you when you are hurting or tears dripping down your face when you do something stupid that makes you laugh so hard you almost pee your pants.  These are things a phone call just cannot convey quite all the way.  But then there’s another thing and that’s when you haven’t even used one of the long distance forms of communication to learn about someone.

While we were home we saw so many people we haven’t seen in around 2 years or more.  Pure craziness…pure and wonderful.  Thing is with some of them I didn’t know enough about what goes on in their lives to have a real conversation about anything.  It helped that I had a surprise pregnancy to bring to the table, but then the conversation had opportunity to become all about me.  And that was certainly NOT what I wanted.  Real, true, honest conversation comes when there is sharing.

Being with all these wonderful people made me long to know more about them.  It made me wish I was better at long distance communicating.  And it made me come up with ideas on how to change.  Let’s just say for now that I have a few ideas boiling on the stove.  I’d love to hear if you have any suggestions on how to improve in this area.

And so today’s challenge is getting to a place where you can commune.  A place where you can be open, honest and a place where you can discover.  Forget that time has passed and reach out to someone you haven’t talked with in a long time.  Open yourself up to let others know you.  Take some time to commune with God.  Find true communication in the time that you put into communing.   Discover how wonderful those around you and distant from you are.  It can only be done when you are being real with each other and that can only be done when you put time into the discovery.  It’s work, but oh what wonderful work.

And so, if you know me personally you might just find your phone begin to ring or a knock on your door or a simple text asking how you are.  And when I ask…I really mean it.  I want to get to know YOU all over again.  Let’s commune and in that let’s find the blessing of Real Communication.

Here are some quick shots I took on my phone during our trip.  Enjoy!

      

Miraculously Blessed –

Jessica

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

