Minding My Miracles

~ and finding new mercies every morning

The price of procrastination

Dear Ones –

I am a procrastinator.  There, I’ve said.  But it’s not totally accurate.  I am becoming a reformed procrastinator.  As a mom I just don’t have the luxury of procrastination.  Well, I can, but things do tend to fall apart when mom puts too many things off.

The only area I can really get away with it is regarding things that have to do with me.    But I am here to tell you this morning that as a mom we should NOT be procrastinating on ourselves.  In fact, as a person we should not procrastinate on the things we need.  We all function better when we are well taken care of.  We are more patient generous people.

So, the big question is, why don’t we take care of ourselves?  My current example…yesterday for (and I have to say that I am ashamed to admit this) the first time in years I went to the dentist to have my teeth cleaned.  This was NOT a fun experience.  I have lingual braces cemented on my bottom front teeth.  They were covered in tarter…YUCK.  So, I was poked and prodded and my teeth were scraped and scraped and scraped.  And today I still hurt.  Which clearly says to me that I am paying a big price for my procrastination.  The price of pain.  Needless to say, my next teeth cleaning is already scheduled for 6 months from now.  And why hadn’t I faced this particular area?  Simply because I kept putting it off.  I had insurance to cover it.  I had time.  I just put it off.  Maybe because of fear of what they would find.  Maybe because after you put things off so long you feel ashamed and don’t want to face it.  For me it was a multitude of reasons like that.

Certainly there are other things I have been putting off.  And today I am making a list of those things.  I need to know where I am going to have to “Cowboy Up” and face some more pain.  But oh, the excitement in thinking about being on the other side.   Maybe I will be sharing with you some other areas I have been procrastinating on and the price I’ve had to pay because of it.  In the meantime, it would be oh-so-helpful in my pain to have you share areas you either need to conquer or have already moved past.  Nobody likes being alone.

Here are a few basic things just on the top of my head to do.  Are any of them on your list?
Make appointments
Return or Renew library books
Put the kids clean clothes from vacation away
Pack books for move
Go grocery shopping
Make a few phone calls to catch up with people I haven’t talked to in a while

Matthew 6:33-34 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.  Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

I refuse to get stressed about the things I have procrastinated on.  I am going to allow these things to become a praise to my Maker as I accomplish them.  I will do what I can do today because He has made me more than able.  In trusting and seeking Him I will find the time, strength and energy to see it through.  May you find yourself in this place to.  May your doing be praises to Him.

Miraculously Blessed,

Jessica

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The price of procrastination

  1. Jess, last fall I was in your shoes & I too have one of those permanent retainers. My teeth ached for days & I kept up with brushing, flossing & rinsing. Then slowly, like usual my efforts to care for myself waned. I’m sure to get at least 2 brushes a day, but flossing has taken a dive. Thanks for the motivation – before this week is done I’ll make an appointment for my cleaning & filling I’ve put off going on 8 months now.

    This sort of phenomenon is most evident when I’m pregnant – I do all I can to take care of myself & the baby & then it’s back to procrastinating/ignoring my own body. Sad! Time to put ourself back on the priority list!

  2. Jeremy Goodman on said:

    Jess, the big ones are related to repairs around the house. I have a kitchen tile to replace and wall patches to sand. The painting is a follow up. As I was reading your post, I found myself questioning the difference between laziness and procrastination in my own life. Proverbs clearly tells us what the effects of laziness are. What excuses am I using to tell myself I’m not laziness if I am intentionally. Filling my time with other things that “need” to be done.

Leave a Reply

