Minding My Miracles

~ and finding new mercies every morning

Peace…is it hard to find?

Dear Ones –

We often talk about the peace before the storm.  In our house this usually means afternoon nap time.  Which is often followed by pure craziness as I prepare dinner and the kids go a little nuts waiting for it.  And when the kids go nut, mama is not far behind.  This period (often referred to in our house as the crazy hour) is known as THE STORM.

There is just something about a storm that has the ability to throw everything out of whack.  Tempers fly and the ugliest sounds are heard.  There is crying (on all parts) and nothing is very fun.  Then comes dinnertime and we all try to forget what just happened and pray.  Haha  It’s hard to be grateful for a meal when you are frustrated and irritated.  It’s hard to relax enough to take in a “feast” when you’re so worn out from the battle that you just throw the food in without appreciating the blessing of having food on your table.

And I know I am the worst culprit when it comes to all of this.  Sure, I can use the pregnant excuse.  As in…I’m pregnant so I’m tired and I’m sick of doing it all.  Notice a theme in that sentence?  “I’m”  – it’s all about me.  The truth of it is that life isn’t meant to be lived about me.  And the other truth is that in service I can find peace before, during and after the storm.

When focused on my family I actually take the stress off of myself.  So, now comes the challenge for me.  This is what I’m thinking.  I’m thinking that I need to come up with specific focused activities for my kids to do while I am putting dinner together instead of just open play time.  They have lots of open play time during the day already.  I need to anticipate what they are going to need.  Having vegetables cut up and ready for pre-dinner snacking will keep them from whining “I’m hungry”…cause if I hear that one more time…

And for me, the most important thing I can do is have dinner mostly ready so I am not spending an hour in the kitchen as their little tummies growl.  So, it’s back to the planing drawing board.  I’ve decided that I need to schedule some things in my life…including nap time for mom (hey, my nurse told me this is a must for me).

And because I am searching to bring more peace into my household I am turning outside of myself for help.  One of the main places I am searching is you.  Do you have ideas on fun, mostly clean, needing little supervision activities that I can set-up for my kids to do as I put dinner together?  My guys are 3 1/2 and 18 months.  I have been searching Pinterest and finding all kinds of great ideas, but I would really love to hear from those of you in the trenches.

As I create some more structure in my home, I am going to focus on Psalm 23 because let’s face it…this is true peace.  He has it all worked out for me and in that I will find all that I need.

The LORD is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the LORD
Forever.

Miraculously Blessed,

Jessica

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

